Tasted a Bacon Chocolate Bar (15/366)

Pasted Graphic 9
“Yes, I’ll have a non-fat, decaf latte, please. Oh, what the hell? Look, make it a full-fat mocha with extra whipped cream. What the hell, put a slice of bacon on it!”
~ Dr. Frasier Crane,
Frasier


When Nick and I were in Chicago last year, we picked up some interesting chocolate bars for our family as souvenirs. One that caught my eye in particular was a dark chocolate bar with bacon in it. I picked up an extra one just for me and Nick.

Last year during one of our Tuesday night dinners, we made chocolate-dipped bacon and it was delicious. I wondered how a chocolate bar with bacon in it would be. Smoky? Salty? Bacon-y? Hopefully.

Here’s the wording from the package:
Breathe … engage your 5 senses, close your eyes and inhale deeply. Be in the present moment, notice the color of the chocolate, the glossy shine. Rub your thumb over the chocolate bar to release the aromas of Hickory smoked uncured bacon flirting with dark chocolate. Snap off just a tiny piece and place it in your mouth, let the lust of salt and sweet coat your tongue.

Hilarious. I opened the package. How cute! “Vosges Haut-Chocolat”, and drawings of ladies with Vosges shopping bags were on each square:


I broke a few pieces off to see how the bacon was incorporated:


This was promising! I smelled the chocolate – at first you do smell mainly just the chocolate, but as you keep inhaling, you can smell the smokiness of the bacon. I chewed the first bit, and to my surprise, the bacon was extremely crispy. It was a great texture. The bacon flavor was light, but the saltiness of the bacon is a great pairing with the chocolate. The second bit, I let dissolve in my mouth (the way chocolate connoisseurs do) to see if I could pick up more bacon flavor.

The verdict? Yum. A totally solid bacon chocolate bar experience. The chocolate is delicious, and the bacon crisps (I think that’s how they should be described in this bar) were nice bits of saltiness throughout. I was actually hoping for a bit more bacon flavor, but that’s probably partially because I was thinking more along the lines of the chocolate-dipped bacon we had once made. That and the fact that there were two huge bacon strips on the box design and just one small square of chocolate. I also read on the box that the original pairing was bacon and milk chocolate. I think this dark version could have stood up to more smoke and more bacon flavor. Now I’m gonna have to get the milk chocolate bacon bar to compare!

Related Links:
Vosges Haut Chocolat, Mo’s Bacon Bar (3oz Bar)
Vosges Milk & Dark Chocolate Bacon Bars

Leave a comment